The Mystery behind Flowers

It was a Sunday morning. I was sipping my coffee and carelessly turning the pages of a book; my mind was lost somewhere. Although coffee pumps my mood every time but that day was different, I was uneasy. My chain of thoughts was interrupted by the doorbell. I lazily got up to address it. When I opened the door, I was surprised. There was a beautiful bouquet of flowers, and the ethereal fragrance made me feel alive again.  I picked it up and eagerly searched for the name of the sender. But there was no name card. I looked around to find the person who rang the doorbell, but I could hardly spot anyone. Who was this mystery sender?  I smiled to myself because this little gesture had made my day and had infused pleasure. I was upset because it was my birthday and I was far away in a foreign land – away from my family and friends. Of course, my family wished me, but I was feeling lonely. This bouquet became my companion for the day, and the flowers were my favorite – the orchids. But a question kept lingering in my mind – Who was the sender?

I waited for a few hours in the hope that someone from my family or friends will reveal the mystery, but nothing happened. A day past, two days and then a week but I was clueless. I was new to that place and did not have any friends. If someone from India had sent it, then there must a name, or at least I had to sign a document for the courier service. Why would someone want it to be a secret? Did I have a secret admirer?  I was in London and a Brit admiring me was next to impossible. And I had not disclosed my birthday to anyone. I struggled hard to find these answers but gave up.

There was a handsome guy in my team, and I secretly had a crush on him. He was tall, handsome, and had grayish- blue eyes. I felt as if he had come straight out of a movie. But unfortunately, this guy was my boss. So, I couldn’t even express my feelings as it is not considered good to flirt with your boss. One day, I went to his cabin to ask a doubt. When I was about to leave, he asked me, “Why are you still angry?”

What was he talking about? How can I be angry with him?

“No, Sir. I am not”, I replied

“I know you are. You didn’t even care to respond. I was living with a burden on my heart.”

His tone felt as if he flirting with me. What care was he talking about?My heart started beating exponentially.

“I think you didn’t like the flowers,” he added

On hearing this, I jumped with joy. He was my secret admirer. I could never imagine this handsome god to be in love with me. That was a dream come true. I looked into his eyes and said, “But how did you know it was my birthday?”

“Your birthday? No, I didn’t know. Remember, I was rude to you for the project work and almost scolded you. I regretted it later. So, to make up for it, I had sent flowers. I even wrote an apology note, but you did not respond. ”

All my hopes were shattered when I heard this. I was weaving my dreams with the sense that he liked me. He had attached an apology note to the bouquet which had fallen and he was waiting for my response. It was mere coincidence that he did it on my birthday, I clarified the situation to him, and we both laughed at the incident.

Although it was a misunderstanding but the flowers made me happy on my birthday, made me restless to resolve the mystery, gave me hope of a secret admirer, excited me with the prospect of a  lover and then finally added an anecdote to my life. What else would you want from a beautiful bouquet of fragrances?

 

โ€˜This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.โ€™    Topic – ‘Flowers at the door’

 

 

 

 

13 comments

  1. wow, loved reading this, as Durga said above, nice twist but somewhere I was hoping Just like the protagonist for a moment that may be the boss too liked her hehe, As the protagonist said above. nvm, it made her happy on her birthday and that is most important. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

