Review: Double Tree by Hilton, New York

During my recent visit to New York, I stayed at one of the Hilton Properties – “DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City”   Address – 569 Lexington Ave, New York

I had got a good deal at Booking.com and was pretty excited about this stay. My experience was not very good, as I had expected.

First I am writing the good things about this Hotel and then the bad ones.

Location – The Hotel is at a prime location in the heart of New York City. All the good eateries were in the vicinity and subway (Metro of New York) was just at the Hotel gate. The Hotel is not far from all the famous spots like Times Square, Empire state building, Rockefeller Center

.img_4434

 

Rooms – The Rooms are very well kept, spacious and have elegant interior

The View from our window was admirable

We had a comfortable stay because of the nice rooms and apt location.

Now, let’s talk about the bad things.

When it comes to hospitality, I will rate this Hotel a 1 out of 5.

  • There were no water bottles in the room. Every night we had to remember to buy water before reaching Hotel. On our last day, when I tried purchasing water from the hotel’s restaurant counter, the guy told me that I could take coupons from reception and get the bottles for free.  No one informed us at check- in.
  • The basics are missing – There is no fridge in the room and not even a coffee kettle. I have never seen a hotel that doesn’t provide tea and coffee facility in the room. A water boiler, few tea bags and milk powder – that is all they need to keep some people happy. So, we were devoid of our morning bed tea.
  • There was no Menu in the room to order food. I assumed that there was no room service available, and I did not care to check. Although I dined at their restaurant and they served delicious food.
  • The staff is not very friendly, and I experienced rude behavior. I had a morning flight and reached the hotel early around 9 am, assuming that I would request an early check -in.  In most of my previous stays at other Hotels, early check-in used to be pretty convenient. Even if there was no scope of early check-in, I had expected a room once people start checking out at 12. But I was extremely disappointed. They kept me waiting for 5 hours and gave me the room at 2 pm. I saw many guests who got their room keys in front of me, and I was almost the last person to get a room.  Were all of them Prime customers? Do they assume that a new customer can not become their Prime customer? Or was it because I took a room through Booking.com deal and they do not entertain such customers?  While I was waiting, The staff had told me to check for availability after some time and when I tried checking, which is genuine if you are waiting for so long, they were extremely rude to me.

Talking about my overall experience, I would not recommend this Hotel, especially if you prefer a warm welcome and good hospitality.

Leave a Reply

